RSS

Purpose Driven Life – Day 35

04 Aug
Purpose Driven Life – Day 35

35 Days Down! 5 Days to Go!

Today’s chapter talks about God and our weaknesses 😦

This chapter was a hard one for me as I do not like weaknesses or even admitting them. I feel like revealing this information is a disadvantage to maintaining the power in an interaction or a relationship. I’m a planning, organization loving, image conscious control freak so weakness is definitely a sore spot.

All that being said, this was a good chapter and a reminder that I have to let go of some of my ideas and tactics surrounding weakness. The chapter gives several examples of God using people’s weaknesses for His work and how these people dealt with and saw their weaknesses. What is also shared is just like every good has its corresponding evil, every strength has its corresponding weakness.

Why Weakness is Important

The chapter shares several things about why weakness is important and even needed. The one that struck me the most is in the following passage:

Our weaknesses also encourage fellowship between believers. While strength breeds an independent spirit (“I don’t need anyone else”), our limitations show how much we need each other. When we weave the weak strands of our lives together, a rope of strength is created. Vance Havner quipped, “Christians, like snowflakes, are frail, but when they stick together they can stop traffic.” Most of all, our weaknesses increase our capacity for sympathy and ministry. We are far more likely to be compassionate and considerate of the weaknesses of others.” [Emphasis mine].

Impress v. Influence

Rev. Warren shares that:

At some point in your life you must decide whether you want to impress people or influence people. You can impress people from a distance, but you must get close to influence them, and when you do that, they will be able to see your flaws. That’s okay. The most essential quality for leadership is not perfection, but credibility.

There is a saying that shares, “People don’t care about how much you know until they know how much you care,” and I am reminded of this quote when reading the above passage. Sure fancy titles and accomplishments are nice but the taking on of advice or being influenced by others for me has happened with people that were honest, credible and let me see that they were concerned and cared for my personal, spiritual and educational development.

Just this week, I was talking with some friends at church about our pastor and the work that he does and not once did we share that, “oh we love our pastor and what he does because he is soooo perfect.” Actually he’s not perfect…really kinda crazy in a good way, lol 🙂 However, the things that we did share that we liked included that he was honest; that he was real; and that he shared his life as he teaches us. Frankly, I enjoy that my pastor is not perfect and is still working on some things — full disclosure, it makes me feel a lot better about me not having it all together — and I know that part of me is more susceptible to what he says and teaches because he shows his human side (not that pastor’s are not human but I hope you get what I am trying to say).

Well today’s Question to Consider is, “Am I limiting God’s power in my life by trying to hide my weaknesses? What do I need to be honest about in order to help others?”

Yes and I need to be honest that everything is not okay and that I’m struggling in some areas. I also think I need to be more open to showing how my weaknesses brought me closer to Christ and taught me other life lessons and not just share from the space of “now everything is okay,” on the other side of the lesions.

Until tomorrow, si Dios quiere,

DNMP

 

Leave a Reply

 
