RSS

Purpose Driven Life – Day 29

29 Jul
Purpose Driven Life – Day 29

29 Days Down! 11 Days to Go!

Gosh I still can’t believe that in a little over a week I’ll be done with this book! I go back and forth between sadness as I have enjoyed this and joy because this was a big time commitment.

Today’s chapter starts the reflections on our fourth purpose in life – to serve. Basically, we were created and saved to serve not be served. In addition to sharing around this idea, this chapter gives new light on the word minister and ministry which I enjoyed.

It is Better to Give Than Receive

Yes the above is a common cliché that is used but there is also a lot of truth in this and I share a bit below in today’s Question to Consider answer about how much I get out of serving others. If you have ever shared new information with someone or given someone in need a resource and seen their face light up, then you know the beauty of giving over receiving. The book shares several insights on this idea; I’ll share two here:

We are healed to help others. We are blessed to be a blessing. We are saved to serve, not to sit around and wait for heaven.

One reason why you need to be connected to a church family is to fulfill your calling to serve other believers in practical ways…Your service is desperately needed in the Body of Christ — just ask any local church. Each of us has a role to play, and every role is important. There is no small service to God; it all matters…Small or hidden ministries often make the biggest difference. In my home, the most important light is not the large chandelier in our dining room but the little night light that keeps me from stubbing my toe when I get up at night. There is no correlation between size and significance. Every ministry matters because we are all dependent on each other to function.

So You Think God Can’t Use You…

If the above statement applies to you than read the following email forward that I got a few years back as it could help you in this area, Rev. Warren shares a similar list in the book that you can also look at when you read :):

The next time you feel like GOD can’t use you, just remember…
Noah was a drunk\
Abraham was too old\
Isaac was a daydreamer\
Jacob was a liar\
Leah was ugly\
Joseph was abused\
Moses had a stuttering problem\
Gideon was afraid\
Samson had long hair and was a womanizer\
Rahab was a prostitute\
Jeremiah and Timothy were too young\
David had an affair and was a murderer\
Elijah was suicidal\
Isaiah preached naked\
Jonah ran from God\
Naomi was a widow\
Job went bankrupt\
Peter denied Christ\
The Disciples fell asleep while praying\
Martha worried about everything\
Mary Magdalene was…\
The Samaritan woman was divorced, more than once\
Zaccheus was too small\
Paul was too religious\
Timothy had an ulcer..\
AND Lazarus was dead
[Emphasis mine]

God used the experiences and character flaws of ALL of these people to share His ministry, His ways and His truth. If He can use them, He can use you! Besides, I have always felt more encouraged and comforted in hearing how people overcame their “shortcomings” or life experiences to come to God than by someone’s “oh I knew God from day one and I served Him since day one” stories. How can you use your life and what you have overcome to help and serve others?

Today’s Question to Consider is, “What is holding me back from accepting God’s call to serve him?”

This is not really an area I struggle with as I do serve in ministry and I have most of my life. My parents always instilled in my brothers and I the importance of serving so I always served, inside and outside of the church. However, about a year ago, I joined a ministry that was a challenge for me, our witnessing ministry, as they were looking for more people to join. Some of the things that had me not consider them before was fear of just going out onto the street and asking people about Jesus, fear of not knowing how to share Jesus, fear of being one of those Jesus freaks that knock on people’s doors and maybe a few other things. However, I thought if I can share Spelman and Study Abroad and fellowship programs that I have been in why can’t I share God? Why not use this as an opportunity to get over my fear over sharing Jesus with people? It worked with taxes (I was a free tax preparer a few years back. A service opportunity I took so that I could get over my fear of the tax filing process) So I jumped in and joined and I have to say I have learned so much about sharing Jesus with people and I have gotten over some of my fears around this type of sharing so I guess being one of those Jesus freaks that knock on people’s doors isn’t so bad 🙂 Frankly, as much as I’m helping people by praying for them and sharing Jesus, I feel like I get more out of the exchange because its nice to know that I am helping someone or being an encouragement for someone, especially considering the town I live in – long story short its a brain drain town.

Until next time,

DNMP

 

2 responses to “Purpose Driven Life – Day 29

Leave a Reply

 
