RSS

Purpose Driven Life – Day 22

22 Jul
Purpose Driven Life – Day 22

22 Days Down! 18 Days to Go!

Today’s chapter is the first chapter of Purpose 3, you were created to become like Christ.
Also, today I decided to share some “Cliff’s notes” type points from the chapter since I cannot share everything I want to share from this chapter in my post.

In order of appearance:

  • God wants us to be godly not be a god;
  • Being like Christ is about transforming character not personality;
  • All we “go through” is about making us like Christ;
  • Life is supposed to be difficult;
  • Don’t wait for feelings! God waits for us to act first;
  • “Spiritual maturity is neither instant nor automatic;”
  • God cares more about your character than your career.

One of the things that is stressed in the video for this chapter and later in the book is that God wants us to grow but he facilitates our growth in three areas: 1) The Word, 2) circumstances and 3) other people. Another point that is shared in Day 22 is the idea of God using opposites to mold us to be like him. Basically, if He feels we need to work on being love he will put us around unloving people so that we can learn how to be love. Talk about a new way to look at the idea of opposites attract…

God wants us to be Godly not be a god

For me, this idea is the Christian version of don’t get caught up in the pursuit of power or the power trip. Rev. Warren elaborates on this idea by declaring:

Let me be absolutely clear: You will never become God, or even a god. That prideful lie is Satan’s oldest temptation. Satan promised Adam and Eve that if they followed his advise, “ye shall be as gods [Genesis 3:5 NKJV].”This desire to be a god shows up every time we try to control our circumstances, our future, and people around us. But as creatures, we will never be the Creator. God doesn’t want you to become a god; he wants you to become godly — taking on his values, attitudes, and character. The Bible says, “Take on an entirely new way of life — a God-fashioned life, a life renewed from the inside and working itself into your conduct as God accurately reproduces his character in you [Ephesians 4:22-24 MSG].”

Life is supposed to be difficult

This idea is a hard one as it seems that in recent decades in a pursit of more followers or church members some preachers and teachers emphasize the benefits of becoming a believer without sharing that becoming a Christian will not solve all of your problems they will just make your problems bearable and give you tools to better deal with the problems you encounter. In this chapter the following is discussed:

Many Christians misinterpret Jesus’ promise of the “abundant life” to mean perfect health, a comfortable lifestyle, constant happiness, full realization of your dreams, and instant relief from problems through faith and prayer. In a word, they expect the Christian life to be easy. They expect heaven on earth. This self-absorbed perspective treats God as a genie who simply exists to serve you in your selfish pursuit of personal fulfillment. But God is not your servant, and if you fall for the idea that life is supposed to be easy, either you will become severely disillusioned or you will live in denial of reality.

God is NOT This Guy!!

“Spiritual maturity is neither instant nor automatic”

They say that Rome wasn’t built in a day…well neither is spiritual maturity. Quality takes time and this applies to our walks with God. However, as Rev. Warren discusses and I highlighted at the top of this post there are several ways that God builds our spiritual maturity:

Many people assume all that is needed for spiritual growth is Bible study and prayer. But some issues in life will never be changed by Bible study or prayer alone. God uses people. He usually prefers to work through people rather than perform miracles, so that we will depend on each other for fellowship. He wants us to grow together.

To begin to wrap up, as much as this chapter talks about us in relation to God and His desire to have us be more like Him, I gained a greater idea of who God is than who I am while reading. Rev. Warren definitely “clears the air,” so to speak, around a lot of religious or doctrine ideas about who God is and who we are in relation to Him and in relation to others.

Today’s Question to Consider is, “In what area of my life do I need to ask for the Spirit’s power to be like Christ today?”

For me, there are two areas where I need to be more Christ like. The first is continued discernment around being helpful not “judgey”. I have so much information and knowledge about certain things and my mind goes a mile a minute which is great when I want to offer advise and help my friends and family but bad because sometimes I can be “judgey” with my information 😦 I don’t want to be like that. The second thing is leaning on God and following His commands when he shares them. I like knowledge and I like control but this goes against at times where God is trying to take me. I have to let God be in control and to do that I have to let go of my control but the thought of that alone especially in areas of my heart scares the heck out of me, about 2 steps shy at times of a panic attack. However, when I do let go of control in the little things I see and get the greater benefit. Its time for me to start letting God be in control of the bigger things…its time for me to go to the next level in this.

Thank you for reading! Feel free to like this post, make a comment or share this with a friend 🙂

Be blessed!

DNMP

 

Leave a Reply

 
