RSS

Purpose Driven Life – Day Seven

07 Jul
Purpose Driven Life – Day Seven

So today’s chapter focused on God’s grace in its discussion on “The Reason for Everything.” However, while watching the video for today Rev. Warren talked about love and well that got me thinking. He shared on the concept that God is Love. For me, that simple sentence, “God is Love,” has been a big revelation for me in my spiritual journey especially since starting my PhD. It really helped me to focus on me being me no matter what. Even if people are rude, snooty, deceitful etc etc I am still going to be me, which is the possibility of love, because it is my nature and who I want to be even on my worst day.

Getting back to the focus of the chapter Rev. Warren discusses God’s glory, what it is and why it is important as well as Jesus’s role in the Christian understanding of glory. Also in this discussion he talks about the five purposes for our lives that will be the focus of the rest of the book. I’m not going to outline all of that here, I have to give you some reason to pick up the book (FYI-You can read the first seven chapters of the book online for free if you go to the book’s website), but what I’ll share is this:

Living the rest of your life for the glory of God will require a change in your priorities, your schedule, your relationships, and everything else. It will sometimes mean choosing a difficult path instead of an easy one. Even Jesus struggled with this. Knowing he was about to be crucified, he cried out: “My soul has become troubled; and what shall I say, ‘Father, save me from this hour’? But for this purpose I came to this hour. Father, glorify Thy name.” Jesus stood at a fork in the road. Would he fulfill his purpose and bring glory to God, or would he shrink back and live a comfortable, self-centered life? You face the same choice. Will you live for your own goals, comfort, and pleasure, or will you live the rest of your life for God’s glory, knowing that he has promised eternal rewards?

And that book quote brings me to today’s question to consider (Q2C), “Where in my daily routine can I become more aware of God’s glory?” My Q2C answer is

Probably, when it comes to school and starting my day with my mind on Him. I do good with going to church every week at least twice a week and that is part of my weekly routine, frankly I feel weird when I don’t go to Sunday and Mid-Week service. However, I do not always start my day with God. For awhile, I would say I couldn’t log onto Twitter without reading my Bible and saying a prayer but I have let that good idea go recently, the end of semesters are high stress and I usually do pretty much whatever I need to to get through it. But, that time is done until November/December so I guess its time to get back to that. With school, I have had such a stressful experience that it has been hard to see God’s glory in that situation and hard to stay productive. I did a lot better last year and finally came to a point where I was more productive than not but I’m sure that adding more of God’s glory or this perspective will help me stay productive moving forward. But this question may be one that I put on my wall or something and ponder for longer as I go through a few days to see. 

To wrap up today’s post, I want to talk about something that makes me uncomfortable STILL as a Christian and that is walking people through accepting Jesus as their personal savior. In the last year, I have gotten better about sharing my faith (I even joined my church’s witnessing team) and even sharing Jesus but this last part about really asking someone if they have a personal relationship with Christ is still hard for me. I don’t know if you read in the comments section from Day Five but someone shared how they are uncomfortable in sharing religion. I have definitely been there and I still am there at times. But Rev. Warren makes it so easy and its not showy or filled with guilt either. I also feel he did a good job of not making it like an instant solution that is going to fix all of your problems the minute you say, “Yes I accept Jesus.” (It won’t but it will give you tools and comfort to deal with your problems) He simply walks through two steps to accepting Christ, 1- believe and 2-receive. With a quick prayer that says Jesus I believe that you died for me and I receive you can be saved and move towards an even greater understanding of God’s glory.

So if you are reading this and you do not have a personal relationship with Jesus I encourage you to just think about it (no pressure from me as I want to respect where you are at in your spiritual journey but do think about it). Here is a short video that may help you think:

Enjoy and thank you for reading!
-DNMP
 
3 Comments

Posted by on 07 July 2011 in Books, Purpose Driven Life, Quarter Life, Religion

 

3 responses to “Purpose Driven Life – Day Seven

  1. carol Apple

    07 July 2011 at 17:13

    Hello DNMP – what a lovely post! I think this is my first visit to your blog (through She Writes). I congratulate you on your courage in sharing your faith. I read “The Purpose Driven Life a few years ago and enjoyed it. I try to start my day with prayer and Bible reading- I’m reading through the whole thing. Almost finished Deuteronomy. Sometimes it’s hard because I have very little time in the morning before work and also want to get my 30-minute workout in. Stewardship of the bod is also important to for doing God’s work!

     
  2. Elizabeth Young

    07 July 2011 at 19:00

    Great post and excellent comments Carol! I enjoyed everything I read here today – so refreshing to see two women who have given their lives to God and are seeking to know him more. Your honesty is refreshing also. I also plan to start my day with prayer and Bible reading, but sometimes it doesn’t happen that way and I usually regret it later! Thanks for encouraging me today.

     
  3. DNMP

    08 July 2011 at 13:46

    Thank you both for your comments. @Carol check out Blue Letter Bible as a nice tool to go with your Bible reading. On the site you can access multiple commentaries on every book and verse in the Bible. Also, I feel you on the taking care of your body! Our bodies are temples. @Elizabeth thanks for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed and received something from it.

    I too am trying to get more consistent with starting my day reading the Word and praying. My goal is to get the prayer, reading and workout done before I do anything else in my day. Some days are better than others…

     

Leave a Reply

 
