RSS

Purpose Driven Life – Day Six

06 Jul
Purpose Driven Life – Day Six

The title of Chapter six is “Life is a Temporary Assignment.”

This chapter is interesting for me because I have always been a big picture look to the future type of a person, almost to my detriment, and I do not focus enough on the hear and now. Recently though, I have seen that as much as I look to the future I have never really looked to my eternal life future. This chapter and some other things (mainly sermons and sunday school lessons) have really began to shift my thinking on this. I even blogged about heaven a few months back, I mentioned this yesterday as well.
Looking to personal finances, I feel that this chapter has released some of the stress I feel to finish paying off my student loans ASAP and get a house ASAP. I am definitely an over achiever and I have had thoughts of owning three to four houses but when I crunch the numbers Sallie Mae may prevent me from owning even one. While reading I thought if I never own a home in this life I will have one in the next. It was nice to release some of that pressure.
Well today’s Q2C is How should the fact that life on earth is just a temporary assignment change the way I am living right now?
I think the biggest change that thinking about life on earth as a temporary assignment is a shift in focusing on what I can do to fulfill the requirements of the next life instead of the requirements of this one. Rev. Warren talks about how it is what you spend your time and your money on that shows your true priorities. Aside from clothes I do a good job in focusing my time and money on more eternal than material things but I do think that I should shift more in focusing on success in God’s eyes and not the world’s eyes. For example, if I never become a CEO but I make the lives of those around me better than I am successful. Maybe I’ll never be on the cover of a magazine or the leader of the “free world” but I know that if I continue to work on my career and family goals that God will say, “Well done.”
In the book Rev. Warren shares that
In God’s eyes, the greatest heroes of faith are not those who achieve prosperity, success, and power in this life, but those who treat this life as a temporary assignment and serve faithfully, expecting their promised reward in eternity.
I pray and hope that this chapter will be a beginning to me really looking long term in God’s terms and incorporating eternity more into what I do and why I do what I do.
Until tomorrow, Lord Willing,
DNMP
 
 

Leave a Reply

 
