RSS

Purpose Driven Life – Day Four

04 Jul
Purpose Driven Life – Day Four

Day Four! The topic for today is “Made to Last Forever.”

This chapter is short but has a few passages that are helpful. It is interesting because I grew up in the church and I know a lot of church lingo, mannerisms and customs. As a young teen, I accepted Christ but even in that I was more going through the motions and was just glad that I did what I needed to do to get to heaven. However, I never though much about what I would do in heaven once I got there or even thought about how I will be in heaven for billions of years compared to my hopefully long number of decades on earth. I actually wrote recently about heaven here on this blog.

This chapter is making me think about my goals and desires for how to give back to this earth in a different way. I have always been big on making this world better than how it was when I got here but I don’t think I have thought about how that desire affects what goes on in heaven and my placement there. It’s kinda nice to think that my contributions will have a larger effect than I imagined.

There are so many passages I could share from this chapter and really the whole book but between holding your attention and concerns about copyright I can only share so much. It was a hard decision but this is the OjO passage of chapter four:

If your time on earth were all there is to your life, I would suggest you start living it up immediately. You could forget being good and ethical, and you wouldn’t have to worry about any consequences of your actions. You could indulge yourself in total self-centeredness because your actions would have no long-term repercussions. But–and this makes all the difference–death is not the end of you! Death is not your termination, but your transition into eternity, so there are eternal consequences to everything you do on earth. Every act of our lives strikes some chord that will vibrate in eternity.

Wow vibrations in eternity! That makes me think and may freak me out a bit in a day or two but I’m praying I move beyond that and get back to my original interpretation of that sentence which I shared about about enjoying the even longer term benefits of my work here on earth.

The question to consider for chapter four is, “Since I was made to last forever, what is the one thing I should stop doing and the one thing I should start doing today?” Part of my answer is:

The one thing I should stop doing is hiding and minimizing my talents and skills. The one thing I should start doing is working on the thing that I think God planted in me to do. On the first thing, I find myself hiding and minimizing myself based on fear. Growing up in the suburbs as a black girl was not easy. My blackness was questioned, almost all the time, and then add to that that I was smart and well it was hard. Boys did not want to date me because between being the smart black girl I was the virgin girl and my dad was well known in the community so boys just left me alone more often than not. I STILL remember the day a family friend, who I was interested in, said to me, “I can’t date you. Your dad is like a father to me.” :{ I think a reaction to this/my coping mechanism was hiding and minimizing myself to be more “normal.”

I close there…”see” you tomorrow 🙂

-DNMP

 

Leave a Reply

 
