RSS

Purpose Driven Life – Day 2

02 Jul
Purpose Driven Life – Day 2

Day two’s chapter title is “I am Not An Accident.” With so many shifts in the dynamics and make up of families today I can see how this chapter is so important. Even beyond that there are so many examples of people struggling with how they were born. For example, in the video for today, Rev. Warren tells the tale of a woman in Hong Kong who was dwarfed and struggled with acceptance and was frustrated with her inability to find a partner and a job yet after reading this chapter she was transformed as she saw that all she went through/goes through is part of God’s plan for her purpose.

In my case, as a child I was adopted and my parents did a great job with assuring me that I was loved, accepted and in no way an accident. They even got me a book called “Why Am I Adopted?” and though I have not seen this book in YEARS its cover and its message are etched in my heart and mind. Assisting me in understanding that I am not an accident!

Today’s question asked, “I know that God uniquely created me. What areas of my personality, background and physical appearance am I struggling to accept?” It took me a really long time for me to get to a clear answer. I started with well what I started this post with, thoughts that centered around, “Oh I’m adopted and my parents were great about it. Though my life started a bit rough based on what I have read and remember its whatever because blah blah blah.” However, I think my mind was doing some blockage rather…let’s say I was perfecting my politician answers in case I ever do decide to run for office 🙂 But after thinking more I came up with a “realer” answer that includes of course what I shared above but also includes the fact that lately, I have found that I am disliking the fact that it is hard for me to choose a path to “really really” walk down whether its my career or dating choice. I keep thinking, “what if that road isn’t the right road or that man the right man?” I know I have to just make a decision but the dealing with the consequences of that decision that keeps me from making a decision even though I know that the Bible says that it will all work together for my good 😦

There are two things from the chapter that I want to leave you with. The first is the OjO passage (FYI – ojo is Spanish for eye & some Spanish speakers put ojo in the margins of a page to indicate importance as the ojo when written a certain way looks like well ojos (OjO) see it yet?):

But there is a God who made you for a reason, and your life has profound meaning! We discover that meaning and purpose only when we make God the reference point of our lives. the Message [version of the Bible that translates based on context not exact translation-my interpretation] paraphrase of Romans 12:3 says, “The only accurate way to understand ourselves is by what God is and by what he does for us.”

The second thing is from a poem that was shared in the chapter by Russell Kelfer:

No, that trauma you faced was not easy./And God wept that it hurt you so;/But it was allowed to shape your heart/So that into his likeness you’d grow.

You are who you are for a reason,/You’ve been formed by the Master’s rod./You are who you are, beloved,/Because there is a God!

You and I are not accidents!

Con amor,

-DNMP

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 02 July 2011 in Books, Purpose Driven Life, Quarter Life

 

Leave a Reply

 
