RSS

Purpose Driven Life – Day 32

01 Aug
Purpose Driven Life – Day 32

32 Days Down! 8 Days to Go!

Today’s chapter discusses the importance of using your gifts and the importance of not comparing yourself to others. One of the things that Rev. Warren talks about in today’s lesson is the fact that God won’t judge me based on what others do or are doing but He will judge me based on what He gave me. I also found it interesting that Rev. Warren stresses the importance of loving our SHAPE based on the acronym that he created but while reading I also thought how this can transform to our physical shape as well…this lesson can also be a nice reminder to love the skin you are in :)

“What you are is God’s gift to you; what you do with yourself is your gift to God.” Danish proverb

I almost feel like a broken record with all the times I’ve said or thought about sharing the importance of using your unique gift and that your unique gift is important but they say repetition is key :) Rev. Warren definately got that memo as I feel that this gift message has been stressed a lot over the last few chapters. Two things on gifts that are discussed in today’s chapter are:

1) The Discovery Process to Find Your Gifts:

Many books get the discovery process backwards. They say, “Discover your spiritual gift and then you’ll know what ministry you’re supposed to have.” It actually works the exact opposite way. Just start serving, experimenting with different ministries, and then you’ll discover your gifts. Until you’re actually involved in serving, you’re not going to know what you’re good at.

2) Hindsight is 20/20:

We rarely see God’s good purpose in pain or failure or embarrassment while it is happening. When Jesus washed Peter’s feet, he said, “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand [John 13:7 NIV].” Only in hindsight do we understand how God intended a problem for good.

Maybe I keep stressing this unique gift thing as a reminder to myself…I’ve been on a good track recently in being okay with where I am spiritually and happy for all the growth I have made while reading this book and in the last year or so but I know I will still have moments where I get caught up in other people’s gifts and other people’s position. As a graduate student, it has been really hard for me to be still and do less than I would normally do because I have to focus on my studies. I know long term that this time is needed but at times I do wish I could help more now. But in times that I feel like this I guess I have to remember what is shared in today’s chapter, “Don’t be envious of the runner in the lane next to you; just focus on finishing your race.”

Today’s Question to Consider is, “How can I make the best use of what God has given me?”

I don’t know why this question seems so simple to me but the first words I thought of was to just use what He have given me. But thinking while writing this I see the complexity. Just using what God has given us is easier said than done. So I’ll amend my earlier answer by sharing that I can best use what God has given me by moving past fear and discouragement and temptation to use what God has given me; remembering that in the long run using my gifts is not just what God wants me to do but it will offer the best reward and satisfaction here on earth and in heaven.

Have a great day!

DNMP

 

2 responses to “Purpose Driven Life – Day 32

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

